2019 Independent Music NZ Classic Record Announced


Independent Music NZ announces the 2019 recipient of the Classic Record, which aims to acknowledge New Zealand's rich history of making fine albums that continue to inspire us and that also define who we are.

This year's judging panel has given the nod to Moana and the Moahunter's TAHI (Southside - 1993) as one of Aotearoa's classic records.


TAHI set precedence by fusing traditional Māori instruments, chants and beats with contemporary dance and soul grooves in its title track. The video for album track 'TAHI' was voted Top Female Video of the Year by television viewers; 'Black Pearl' became an anthem for Māori women, reaching No.2 on the national charts and earning the band its first Gold record, while the follow up single, 'A E I OU', made the learning of Māori language and te reo vowels accessible to all. The group sang 'Rebel In Me' to President Nelson Mandela when he was hosted at a special church service in Auckland, while the video for 'Peace, Love & Family' featured The Neville Brothers of New Orleans. 'Back Where We Belong' was a gospel-inspired collaboration with Minister Rasul Muhammad of the Nation of Islam.

The award will be presented to Moana Maniapoto at the official Taite Music Prize 2019 ceremony, Tuesday, April 16th, Q Theatre, Auckland.

The Auckland Live Best Independent Debut Award celebrates the freshest talent of Aotearoa. The winner receives a $2,000 cash prize with thanks to Auckland Live. Now in its third year of presentation, the finalists for the Auckland Live Best Independent Debut are:

Alien Weaponry - Tū

Jed Parsons - Midnight Feast

Wax Chattels - Wax Chattels

The winner of this award will be announced at the official Taite Music Prize 2019 ceremony, Tuesday, April 16th, Q Theatre, Auckland.

The winner of the official 2019 Taite Music prize will be announced at the official Taite Music Prize 2019 ceremony, Tuesday, April 16th, Q Theatre, Auckland

Taite Music Prize Finalists:

Alien Weaponry - Tū (Napalm Records)
Avantdale Bowling Club - Avantdale Bowling Club (Years Gone By)
Jonathan Bree - Sleepwalking (Lil' Chief Records)
Julia Deans - We Light Fire (Tigerhorse)
Marlon Williams - Make Way For Love (Marlon Williams Music Limited)
Mel Parsons - Glass Heart (Cape Road)
Tami Neilson - SASSAFRASS! (Neilson Records)
The Beths - Future Me Hates Me (Dew Process / Carpark)
Unknown Mortal Orchestra - Sex & Food (Jagjaguwar)
Wax Chattels - Wax Chattels (Flying Nun Records)

This award recognises outstanding creativity for an entire collection of music contained on one recording. The prize winner will receive a cash prize of $10,000 to be spent as they wish, thanks to Taite Music Prize founding partner Recorded Music NZ; recording time at Red Bull Studios Auckland; and a year’s supply of Red Bull product.


Dylan Taite

The Taite Music Prize

Presented by: Independent Music New Zealand (IMNZ)

Founding Partner: Recorded Music NZ

Official Partners: NZ On Air / The Taite Family

Award Partners: Auckland Live

Event Partners: Q Theatre

Supporting Partners: Panhead Breweries / NZ Music Commission / APRA AMCOS / Media Arts Lawyers / Red Bull Studios Auckland / Commotion Ltd. / McCarthy Design

Media Partners: RNZ Music / 95bFM

Charity Partners: MusicHelps

Previous winners of The Taite Prize:

2010 - Lawrence Arabia Chant Darling (Honorary Bedouin Records)

2011 - Ladi6 - The Liberation Of (What? Music)

2012 - Unknown Mortal Orchestra – Unknown Mortal Orchestra (Seeing Records)

2013 – SJD - Elastic Wasteland (Round Trip Mars)

2014 – Lorde - Pure Heroine (Universal Music NZ)

2015 – Jakob – Sines (Shoot The Freak)

2016 – Silicon - Personal Computer (Weird World/Domino Recordings)

2017 - Street Chant - Hauora (Arch Hill Recordings)

2018 - Aldous Harding - Party (Flying Nun Records / 4AD)

Previous Winners of the Independent Music NZ Classic Record:

2013 – Gordons – Gordons (Flying Nun)

2014 – Various Artists – AK79 (Ripper Records)

2015 – Herbs – What’s Be Happen? (Warrior Records)

2016 – Upper Hutt Posse – E Tū (Jayrem Records)

2017 - The Clean - Boodle Boodle Boodle (Flying Nun)

2018 - Headless Chickens - Stunt Clown (Flying Nun)

Previous Winners of the Auckland Live Best Independent Debut:

2017 - Merk - Swordfish (self released)

2018 - The Miltones - The Miltones (Self-released)


Written By: Radio13