News

Adam McGrath Announces 36 Date Ragged Ramble Tour Across NZ

Radio13

Adam McGrath, lead singer and songwriter from mythical mongrel Christchurch folk/country band The Eastern, returns again to the state highways and byways of these long isles as part of his Autumn Ragged Ramble Tour.

Described by influential country magazine No Depression as “one of the best modern roots acts from any country period”, by the NZ Herald as “NZ’s toughest-minded songwriter” and by Radio NZ National as a “National Treasure”, an Adam McGrath show is primed and proud to reach your heart, head and boots.

TheEastern EmilyFairlight Credit Reuben Raj 39

Adam McGrath by SomeBizarreMonkey

A folk singer in the truest, traditional sense but one whose songs speak to the times we find ourselves in and the people with whom we share them with, McGrath has a virtual lifetime spent on the road around NZ and everywhere beyond. He sees his job as to pick up the stories he finds, syphon them down to the bone and the heart and bring them around to the next place and the next.

He’s toured and played with everyone from Fleetwood Mac to Steve Earle to Paul Kelly to Old Crow Medicine Show and many, many more, Barry Saunders from The Warratahs simply described him as “The Truth”.

A people's player with a blue-collar work ethic, McGrath treats any opportunity to play, big or small, as a gift which he intends to earn. He looks ever forward to returning to the road, especially after his last well-received run last spring. McGrath says “somewhere between Waimamaku and Bluff just over there on the left side of the road, that’s where things tend to make the most sense”. He hopes friends of both the Eastern and his solo work will make it out, in part so he can keep the truck gassed and the rent paid, but mostly so as both him and they can feel (at least for a couple of hours) that they aren’t all alone in this mixed up shook up weird ass place we all inhabit together.

All shows are listed below, with a select few still left to be announced and venues to be confirmed in two locations.

am rrt all dates web

Saturday 9 March - Wairau Valley, Dharma Bums
Thursday 21 March - Invercargill - Southland Musicians Club
Friday 22 March - Oamaru - Inkbox
Sunday 24 March - Roxburgh Hall

Wednesday 27 March - Ashburton Trust Event Centre
Thursday 28 March - Alexandra - The Stadium
Friday 29 March - Dunedin - 50 Dundas
Saturday 30 March - Queenstown - Sherwood
Sunday 31 March - Okarito - Donovans Store

Wednesday 3 April - Hokitika - The Old Lodge Theatre, Hokitika
Saturday 6 April - Onekaka - The Mussel Inn

Easter - Canterbury Folk Festival

Thursday 25 April - Palmerston North - Globe Theatre
Friday 26 April - Whanganui Musicians Club
Saturday 27 April - Tahora
Sunday 28 April - New Plymouth - 4th Wall Theatre

Wednesday 1 May - Taupo - Taupo Museum
Thursday 2 May - Te Pahu - Sound Lounge House Concert
Friday 3 May - Paeroa - The Refinery
Saturday 4 May - Hamilton - Nivara Lounge
Sunday 5 May - Kauaeranga Gigs

Wednesday 8 May - Putaruru - The Plaza Theatre
Thursday 9 May - TBC
Friday 10 May - TBC
Saturday 11 May - Leigh Sawmill Cafe
Sunday 12 May - Waimamauku - Morrells Cafe

Wednesday 15 May - Whangarei - The Butter Factory
Thursday 16 May - Tauranga - TBC
Friday 17 May - Gisborne - Dome Cinema
Saturday 18 May - Wairoa - Eastend Cafe
Sunday 19 May - Napier - The Sitting Room Sessions House Concert

Friday 24 May - Nelson - The Boathouse
Saturday 25 May - Murchison Theatre
Sunday 26 May - Barrytown Hall

Auckland TBC
Christchurch TBC
Wellington TBC

Tickets mostly on sale very soon from Undertheradar.co.nz except:
Queenstown: Eventfinda.co.nz
Ashburton: www.ateventcentre.co.nz
Oamaru: www.oamaruoperahouse.co.nz/adam-mcgrath/
Okarito: Door sales only
Mussel Inn: Door sales only
Palmerston North: www.globetheatre.co.nz
Wairoa: At the Cafe
Gisborne: tickets also from The Aviary Collective
Barrytown Hall: Door Sales Only
Napier: Email [email protected]
Te Pahu: Email [email protected]
--

Written By: Radio13

What people are saying

No one has commented on this page yet.



Have Your Say