Cameron McCurdy Releases Debut LP Sapathy


Freshly back in NZ after touring Australia & Asia with indie rock trio Blu Fish, West Auckland indie folk musician Cameron McCurdy has announced his debut album Sapathy set for release on August 10th.

Screenshot 2019 07 16 at 7.31.27 PM

48406290 492056164533791 5859665126503743488 o

This album is three years in the making, having been finished in 2017 before a corrupted laptop ruined the files. Salvaged, glued together, and nursed back to health by McCurdy and producer Alex “Mr•O6OO” Thompson; it’s finally ready for new ears.

18401924 249512408788169 5080526330302269556 o

Sapathy sees McCurdy stepping out from behind the drum kit and launching headfirst back into the existentialist dread of his 2017 gap year. The album was written from the rooftop of McCurdy’s teenage home, staring out over the city. It tells the story of apathetic passion, caffeinated insomnia, absurd lyricism, and an inner/outward examination that lasts a single night from sunset to sunrise.

Screenshot 2019 07 16 at 6.31.39 PM

The album release gig on 10 August is at Anthology K Road, featuring McCurdy’s full backing band, as well as support from Teuila Brown and Mr•O6OO. Tickets available now from Undertheradar.

1. Rooftop
2. Pavement Wind
3. Sap for Apathy
4. App for Sapathy
5. Late Night / Early Morning
6. The City
7. Convenient
8. Brand New
9. Spirited Chimp
10. Stare at the Sun

Click here to stream or buy
Released: 10 Aug 2019

Written By: Radio13