Image by: Jay Westcott
New Music

Chains Are Broken With The Devil Meets Three


The Devil Makes Three are set to return with Chains Are Broken this Friday, August 24th via New West Records. The 11-song set was produced by Ted Hutt (Gaslight Anthem, Flogging Molly) and recorded at Sonic Ranch Studios in El Paso, TX. Chains Are Broken is The Devil Makes Three’s first album of original material since 2013’s I’m A Stranger Here, which debuted on the Billboard Top 200. The new album follows their acclaimed 2016 collection of covers, Redemption & Ruin, which heralded the groups second #1 bow on the Billboard Top Bluegrass Albums Chart. Instead of their traditional revolving cast of collaborators in the studio, The Devil Makes Three stuck to its signature power trio of Pete Bernhard, Lucia Turino, and Cooper McBean - with one addition. This time, they invited touring drummer Stefan Amidon to power the bulk of the percussion and his presence remains most amplified as the band seamlessly translated the spirit of their must see live show into a studio recording.

Before its release on Friday, AllMusic is hosting a full album stream of Chains Are Broken. Hear it Here. In their 8 out of 10 star review of the record, PopMatters called it “...another excellent addition to the band’s already-strong recent run of albums” while American Songwriter stated, “The more sophisticated Chains are Broken reflects a willingness to push beyond the somewhat cult audience The Devil Makes Three has accumulated, into a wider framework without abandoning their reputable roots,” concluding, “...the risk has paid off.”

Billboard previously premiered the video for the first single Bad Idea, which features the band’s recent headline performance at Red Rocks on May 25th. Frontman Pete Bernhard told the publication,

I think we just finally figured out after all this time how to record as a band. We were like, ‘Ok, that’s how it sounds live,’ which was big for us because we’re such a live band. We wanted to capture something more, and I think when we left the studio we were like, ‘God, we did it,’ which felt great.” Bernhard continued, “We’re always trying to be a rock band. Our approach to string band music has always been sort of punk rock; We’re playing string band music, but not in the traditional way. 

Make sure you checkout;
Pray For Rain 
Paint My Face 

The Devil Makes Three have also announced the initial Chains Are Broken tour dates. After a month long European run of performances beginning September 10th, the band will launch their U.S. Tour in support of the album on October 24th in Flagstaff, AZ (All dates below). Chains Are Broken will be available on compact disc, across digital retailers, standard black vinyl, as well as a limited edition cream & navy blue split coloured vinyl LP available at Independent Retailers. Chains Are Broken is available for pre-order now here!

For as much as The Devil Makes Three remain rooted in troubadour traditions of wandering folk, Delta blues, whiskey-soaked ragtime, and reckless rock ‘n’ roll, the band nods to the revolutionary unrest of author James Baldwin, the no-holds barred disillusionment of Ernest Hemingway, and Southern Gothic malaise of Flannery O’Connor. In that respect, Chains Are Broken resembles a dusty leather bound book of short stories from some bygone era.

I always want our songs to unfold like short stories,” affirms Bernhard. “You could think of them as chapters of a book. This was a much more personal album about what it takes to be a writer of any kind - and what you have to do to make your dream possible. It was really the headspace I was in. It might have something to do with getting older. You start reflecting on life and the people around you. I was doing that in these songs. That’s what makes the record more personal. I’m pulling from these things. Some of it is about drug addiction. Some of it is about the things you sacrifice. Some of it is about the detrimental things we do for inspiration. Nevertheless, they all have some sort of narrative.


The Devil Makes Three Chains Are Broken Track Listing:
1. Chains Are Broken
2. Pray For Rain
3. Paint My Face
4. Can’t Stop
5. Need To Lose
6. All Is Quiet
7. Bad Idea
8. Deep Down
9. Native Son
10. Castles
11. Curtains Rise


Written By: Radio13