Image by: SomeBizarreMonkey
Concert Reviews

Concert Review: Shania Twain's First Ever Show In New Zealand

Where: Spark Arena, Auckland NZ
When: 18 Dec 2018
Shania Twain - Performance Medley (Live From The Grey Cup/2017)

The Come On Over superstar is no stranger to New Zealand as she and her, now ex, husband Robert “Mutt” Lange bought a sizeable property on the South Island back in 2004 (Lange now owns it himself). But until last night, Shania Twain, who still holds the record for most biggest selling studio album for a female artist thanks to the 40 million-plus fans who bought 1997’s Come On Over, an album the spawned a jaw-dropping 12 singles, had never performed in New Zealand.

ShaniaTwain Credit SomeBizarreMonkey 1003647

It was those hits that the (mostly female) fans came out to hear last night as Shania’s Now tour drew to a close.

ShaniaTwain Credit SomeBizarreMonkey 0670

Now is the title of Twain’s most recent album... only her fifth and her first in 15 years. Over those 15 years, her remarkable career was thrown into doubt thanks to disease and the breakup of her marriage to Lange.

Not surprisingly, Shania was anxious to show off her new songs... many of them quite personal responses to the heartbreak she endured thanks to that very public breakup. So, there was always going to be a bit of tension between what the fans wanted (the hits) and what Shania wanted (the new songs).

ShaniaTwain Credit SomeBizarreMonkey 0703

Fortunately, the 18-song set found a neat balance between the two, giving Shania plenty of room to share her emotional backstory while performing songs such as Poor Me and I’m Alright, then  revving up the audience with hits such as That Don’t Impress Me and I’m Gonna Getcha Good.

ShaniaTwain Credit SomeBizarreMonkey 1003720

ShaniaTwain Credit SomeBizarreMonkey 1003724 2

Of course that was a high-tech, slickly-produced show with plenty of glitz… not just the many dazzling costume changes… but the eye-popping set based around huge moving cubes and curtains.

ShaniaTwain Credit SomeBizarreMonkey 0764

Shania herself was accompanied by four dancers/backing vocalists and a band that, more often than not, seemed like props rather than musicians. Drummer Elijah Wood was constantly being shuttled around on the stage with her platform of percussion, pounding feverishly while her long blonde hair fluttered in the air.

Despite her problems with her voice over the years, Shania sounded spot-on, confidently strutting the stage in high heels, belting out her songs.

ShaniaTwain Credit SomeBizarreMonkey 0712

Highlights included a semi-acoustic version of You’re Still The One, sung from a platform at the rear of the venue and followed by an entertaining bit of interaction with a couple of audience members.  And the addition of Swiss vocalist Bastian Baker spiced up versions of Party For Two and Swingin’ With My Eyes Closed.

ShaniaTwain Credit SomeBizarreMonkey 1003702

There were a few questionable musical interludes to allow for costume changes that sounded, to these ears, like bombastic 80s hair metal… I guess  Mutt Lange’s influence is still in there.

ShaniaTwain Credit SomeBizarreMonkey 1003668

But for most in the audience, it was a chance to go back twenty years and revel in the music of their youth with songs that were as empowering as those by the Spice Girls. For Twain however, it seemed like an opportunity to say, “I’m still here… we had a lot of fun back in the day, and it's not over yet”.

ShaniaTwain Credit SomeBizarreMonkey 0975

Shania Twain returns to Spark Arena tonight (December 19th) before wrapping up her tour at the Forsyth Barr Stadium in Dunedin on Saturday (December 22nd).

ShaniaTwain Credit SomeBizarreMonkey 0864

Radio 13 thanks and credits Reuben Raj from SomeBizarreMonkey for all the images featured in this article. 

Shania Twain set list:

  1. Life’s About To Get Good
  2. Come On Over
  3. Up!
  4. Poor Me
  5. Don’t Be Stupid (You Know I Love You)
  6. That Don’t Impress Me Much
  7. Any Man Of Mine
  8. Whose Bed Have Your Boots Been Under?
  9. Honey, I’m Home
  10. I’m Alright
  11. You’re Still The One
  12. More Fun
  13. From This Moment On
  14. I’m Gonna Getcha Good
  15. Party For Two
  16. Swingin’ With My Eyes Closed
  17. (If You’re Not In It For Love) I’m Outta Here!
  18. Man! I Feel Like A Woman!
Written By: Radio13