Finalists Announced For The 10th Taite Music Prize


Independent Music NZ (IMNZ) is very pleased to announce that the finalists for the Taite Music Prize 2019 have been confirmed. In celebration of its tenth year, the Taite Music Prize adds an extra element with a new Independent Spirit Award and a venue move to Auckland's Q Theatre for the Taite Music Prize award ceremony on Tuesday 16th April 2019.

Named after the late Dylan Taite, one of New Zealand’s most respected music journalists, the award recognises outstanding creativity for an entire collection of music contained on one recording. The prize-winner will receive a cash prize of $10,000 to be spent as they wish, thanks to Taite Music Prize founding partner Recorded Music NZ; recording time at Red Bull Studios Auckland; and a year’s supply of Red Bull product. This year’s ten finalists, from a list of 67 nominations submitted by record labels both independent and major from across the country, are:

Alien Weaponry - Tū (Napalm Records)
Avantdale Bowling Club - Avantdale Bowling Club (Years Gone By)
Jonathan Bree - Sleepwalking (Lil' Chief Records)
Julia Deans - We Light Fire (Tigerhorse)
Marlon Williams - Make Way For Love (Marlon Williams Music Limited)
Mel Parsons - Glass Heart (Cape Road)
Tami Neilson - SASSAFRASS! (Neilson Records)
The Beths - Future Me Hates Me (Dew Process / Carpark)
Unknown Mortal Orchestra - Sex & Food (Jagjaguwar)
Wax Chattels - Wax Chattels (Flying Nun Records)

The ten albums in contention for the 2019 prize include fresh faces and familiar New Zealand musicians alike.

Previous Taite Music Prize finalists returning with their latest albums include; Julia Deans (previous finalist for her Modern Fables album in 2011), Jonathan Bree (previous finalist for The Primrose Path in 2014), Marlon Williams (previous finalist for his self titled debut album in 2016), Tami Neilson (previous finalist for Dynamite! in 2015), Tom Scott (previous finalist for Homebrew's self titled album and @Peace's self titled album, both in 2013 plus @Peace's Girl Songs in 2014 and 2015's @peace and the Plutonian Noise Symphony), and Unknown Mortal Orchestra (previous finalist for album II in 2014, Multi-Love in 2016 and winners for self-titled album in 2012).

Of the Taite Music Prize reaching its tenth anniversary, IMNZ General Manager, Dylan Pellett, says, “I'm a little bewildered - that snuck up on us quick! Ten years! I'm very pleased to see how the Taite Music Prize has evolved over that time and to get to this Tenth Anniversary milestone has been an enjoyable ride. I recall the first ceremony being held in a concrete bunker somewhere in downtown Auckland and it's been developing and growing up every year since. There has been so much artistic expression recorded on so many great New Zealand albums over the last ten years and I can't help but think that Dylan Taite would be proud of the quality and talent that this award acknowledges."

If you'll excuse me, I might go back and listen to all the finalists this afternoon...perhaps I'll make a mixtape - sorry, I mean a playlist! Happy days!

Alongside the main prize, three additional awards will be presented at the ceremony: the Independent Music NZ Classic Record Award, the newly created Independent Spirit Award, awarded to a New Zealand person who assists our NZ musicians to grow and find their own unique pathways, and the Auckland Live Best Independent Debut Award, celebrating the freshest talent of Aotearoa. The winner receives a $2,000 cash prize with thanks to Auckland Live.

The Taite Music Prize

Presented by: Independent Music New Zealand (IMNZ)

Founding Partner: Recorded Music NZ

Official Partners: NZ On Air / The Taite Family

Award Partners: Auckland Live

Event Partners: Q Theatre

Supporting Partners: Panhead Breweries / NZ Music Commission / APRA AMCOS / Media Arts Lawyers / Red Bull Studios Auckland / Commotion Ltd. / McCarthy Design

Media Partners: RNZ Music / 95bFM

Charity Partners: MusicHelps

Previous winners of The Taite Prize:

2010 - Lawrence Arabia Chant Darling (Honorary Bedouin Records)

2011 - Ladi6 - The Liberation Of (What? Music)

2012 - Unknown Mortal Orchestra – Unknown Mortal Orchestra (Seeing Records)

2013 – SJD - Elastic Wasteland (Round Trip Mars)

2014 – Lorde - Pure Heroine (Universal Music NZ)

2015 – Jakob – Sines (Shoot The Freak)

2016 – Silicon - Personal Computer (Weird World/Domino Recordings)

2017 - Street Chant - Hauora (Arch Hill Recordings)

2018 - Aldous Harding - Party (Flying Nun Records / 4AD)

Previous Winners of the Independent Music NZ Classic Record:

2013 – Gordons – Gordons (Flying Nun)

2014 – Various Artists – AK79 (Ripper Records)

2015 – Herbs – What’s Be Happen? (Warrior Records)

2016 – Upper Hutt Posse – E Tū (Jayrem Records)

2017 - The Clean - Boodle Boodle Boodle (Flying Nun)

2018 - Headless Chickens - Stunt Clown (Flying Nun)

Previous Winners of the Auckland Live Best Independent Debut:

2017 - Merk - Swordfish (self released)

2018 - The Miltones - The Miltones (Self-released)

Written By: Radio13