New Music

Finn Andrews' Debut Solo Album Out Today


Finn Andrews (of The Veils) releases his long-awaited solo album One Piece At A Time. Today also sees the launch of his nationwide New Zealand tour, kicking off at Womad tonight.


Throughout the tour, Finn will perform tracks from his excellent new album for the very first time. Highlights include 'Love, What Can I Do?' and its dramatic opening chord - taught to Andrews by his father Barry Andrews (of XTC, League of Gentlemen). 'One By The Venom' belongs to a songwriting sub-genre Andrews adores - the list song - and its onslaught of doom scenarios provides the perfect canopy under which the band members play off one another. 'The Spirit In The Flame' shows the variety of Andrews’ songwriting, letting his voice light the path. As the album closes with the hopeful 'Don’t Close Your Eyes' it is clear that 'One Piece At A Time' is a necessary step both for fans of the artist’s work as well as the artist himself.

One Piece At A Time was recorded entirely live at The Lab in Auckland and engineered and co-produced by Tom Healy (Tiny Ruins). The band includes Andrews on vocals, piano, and guitar; Cass Basil on electric and upright bass; Alex Freer on drums; Healy on guitar; Reb Fountain and Nina Siegler on backing vocals; with sprawling string arrangements by Victoria Kelly.

Finn+Andrews POSTER final+WEB

Get dates and tickets to the New Zealand album release tour here.

Since signing a record deal at 16, Finn Andrews and his band The Veils have released 5 albums together, appeared in David Lynch's reboot of Twin Peaks, as well as on soundtracks by luminary film directors Tim Burton and Paolo Sorrentino. It was while writing 2016’s acclaimed Total Depravity that the New Zealand-raised musician realised a different streak was beginning to emerge. Fuelled by the end of a relationship, Andrews took some time out from London and from The Veils and returned to New Zealand to begin work on his solo album.

One Piece At A Time is proudly supported by NZ on Air.



  1. Love, What Can I Do?
  2. Stairs To The Roof
  3. The Spirit In The Flame
  4. One By The Venom
  5. A Shot Through The Heart (Then Down In Flames)
  6. What Strange Things Lovers Do
  7. Al Pacino / Rise and Fall
  8. Hollywood Forever
  9. One Piece At A Time
  10. Don't Close Your Eyes


Click here to Buy
Released: 15 Mar 2019

Written By: Radio13