In The Drink With Justin Courtney Pierre


Motion City Soundtrack frontman Justin Courtney Pierre has announced the upcoming release of his debut solo record In The Drink. The record will be released via Epitaph Records on October 12.

Today via Billboard, Pierre shares the lead single and title track from In The Drink—an urgent and bouncy, guitar-fueled pop song built on Pierre’s classically quirky but heartfelt lyrics. Directed by award-winning filmmaker Shane Rock Nelson, the video for In The Drink follows Pierre as he fends off shadowy, cheeseburger zombie-like figures in the woods of his native Minnesota.

Produced by Motion City Soundtrack guitarist Joshua Cain, In The Drink finds Pierre at his most unfiltered, embracing everything from anthemic pop to moodier and more darkly charged material. Pierre plays all instruments on the album except for drums, which are performed by David Jarnstrom (Gratitude, BNLX).


Image by Dan Monick

I wanted to make a record that sounded like the kind of albums I listened to as a teenager in the early ’90s, and I think we succeeded and failed in exactly the right ways

In 1997 Pierre co-founded Motion City Soundtrack, the widely celebrated rock band whose last album Panic Stations hit the Billboard 200. Although Pierre had initially planned to focus on domestic life after the band went on hiatus in 2016, he soon felt compelled to revisit the hundreds of voice memos, lyrical scribblings, and melody ideas he’d compiled since age seven. “There is a part of me that just needs to make stuff, so with whatever free time I had I’d be writing and then I’d clean the house and then I’d write some more,” Pierre recalls. Recorded sporadically over the course of seven months, In The Drink was self-funded and a true labor of love.


1. Undone
2. Anchor
3. I Don't Know Why She Ran Away
4. Moonbeam
5. Ready Player One
6. I'm a Liar
7. Sooner
8. Shoulder the Weight
9. In The Drink
10. Goodnight Hiroyuki

This fall, Pierre will embark on a US national tour in support of In The Drink. Kicking off on November 1 in Chicago, the tour wraps up on December 9 in Seattle. For on sale information, visit

Written By: Radio13