Image by: Image Supplied

Nominations open for the Taite Music Awards


The Taite Music Prize highlights outstanding New Zealand albums released in the past year. The award is open to all genres of music and judged on artistic merit regardless of genre, sales, or record label.

IMNZ General Manager, Dylan Pellett says, "It’s an honour to present the Taite Music Prize every year, and this one is no different - excepting the fact that everyone has had a challenging time over the last twelve months! With those far-reaching challenges as a backdrop, it is heartening to know that New Zealand artists have responded with such creativity and resilience. We salute all of our musicians with this event, and look forward to celebrating our amazing community."

The eponym for the awards is the late Dylan Taite one of  New Zealand’s most respected TV music journalists. He became known for his Liverpudlian wry wit and his unabashed chutzpah-love of music. Dylan’s unique style captured some rare interviews over the decades. Interviews with The Sex Pistols, Deep Purple, and the career-defining Bob Marley are still referenced today.

Dylan Taite1

Image Supplied

Any New Zealand album released during the calendar year of 2020 is eligible for nomination for the Taite Music Prize 2021.  The winner receives a newly increased cash prize of $12,500, thanks to Founding Partner Recorded Music NZ and supporting partner NZ Music Commission

A voting academy of all current members of IMNZ, musicians, and music industry personnel vote to produce the shortlisted finalist albums. An independent panel debates and scrutinises the shortlisted albums to decide the winner. That panel comprises musicians, journalists, and music industry professionals with a wide variety of different professional backgrounds and personal tastes.

The announcement of the winner will happen in Auckland at Auckland's Q Theatre on 20th April 2021.

For more detail on specific eligibility and nomination forms please visit:

Nominations close 5.00 pm on Monday, 8th February 2021.

Written By: Radio13