New Music

Surprise Instrumental Album From Unknown Mortal Orchestra

Hanoi 6

While recording Unknown Mortal Orchestra’s latest release, Sex & Food, Ruban Nielson, his longtime collaborator Jacob Portrait and his brother Kody Nielson, found themselves in the Vietnamese city of Hanoi at Phu Sa Studios.

During the recording process for Sex & Food the band recorded live sessions with local musician Minh Nguyen on Sáo Trúc, Đàn Môi, and Vietnamese Percussion and Nielson's father, Chris, on Flugelhorn, Saxophone and keyboards.

These sessions became IC-01 Hanoi: a sonic distillation of the band's influences in Jazz, Krautrock, and the avant-garde. At its core Hanoi is a record of exploration, finding its closest antecedent in Miles Davis’ experimental On The Corner – itself a record full of nods toward avant-garde composers and jazz outsiders alike.

IC-01 Hanoi will be available on October 26th on Jagjaguwar / Rhythmethod


Hanoi finds Ruban amplifying and stretching out on lead guitar, with a blown-out and wandering fuzz tone that slinks throughout the sessions. The rest of the group match Ruban’s melodic diversions with aplomb, mining their talents and finding as easy a role in the fusion of funk as they do in the more ambient and abstract tangents on Hanoi.

1. Hanoi 1
2. Hanoi 2
3. Hanoi 3
4. Hanoi 4
5. Hanoi 5
6. Hanoi 6
7. Hanoi 7



Our Radio 13 concert review of Unknown Mortal Orchestra's recent epic show at Auckland's Town Hall on 08 Sep 2018 can be found here

Click here to stream or buy
Released: 26 Oct 2018

Written By: Radio13