The General Electric On Vinyl

Wait And See (1998)

The General Electric is the fourth album released by New Zealand’s legendary rock band Shihad. Originally released in October 1999, the album peaked at No. 1 on the New Zealand albums chart and has been certified triple platinum.

Featuring the singles, My Mind’s Sedate, The General Electric, Pacifier and Wait And See, the album has been newly remastered by Tony ‘Jack the Bear’ Mantz who has overseen the previous Shihad reissues, and on October 12 and will be released on vinyl for the very first time, in a special limited edition double 180 gram coloured vinyl, cut at 45RPM.

shihad e1430441045702

Shihad was formed in 1988 with Jon Toogood, Tom Larkin, Phil Knight and Karl Kippenberger and have released nine studio albums, won countless awards and accolades, and are known for being one of the greatest live bands to ever come out of Aotearoa New Zealand.

In 1998 after gaining new management, Shihad returned to the studio to record the Blue Light Disco EP with adventurous Australian producer Magoo and permanently relocated to Melbourne. Shihad then headed to Vancouver, a city known for producing many a top USA rock album (Metallica, Motley Crue etc.). Working with legends GGGarth producing, and Randy Staub mixing, Shihad worked in an environment that was second-to-none and created an album that was a winner with NZ and Australian music buyers.


Image by: Grant Down

Shihad did a Vancouver revamp on Bitter B-side Just Like Everybody Else (1995) and Wait And See (1998) but it would be My Mind’s Sedate, The General Electric and Pacifier that would score big time with rock fans and become some of their most enduring songs.

The General Electric Vinyl Tracklisting

Side A:

1. Intro

2. My Mind’s Sedate

3. The General Electric

4. Wait And See

Side B:

1. Pacifier

2. Thin White Line

3. Only Time

Side C:

1. Just Like Everybody Else

2. Sport And Religion

3. Spacing

Side D:

1. The Metal Song

2. Life In Cars

3. Brightest Star


Pre-order The General Electric vinyl album here!


Written By: Radio13